Boxhead Ensemble

Profile of the performer Boxhead Ensemble: The first incarnation of the Boxhead Ensemble dates back to 1991 in Los Angeles, where [b]Michael Krassner[/b] assembled a group of local musicians to improvise a score to Braden King and Larry Stuckey's student documentary, [i]The Original Pantry Cafe[/i].

In 1996, Krassner assembled a new incarnation of the Ensemble to score the lyric film documentary by Braden King and Laura Moya, [i]Dutch Harbor: Where the Sea Breaks its Back[/i]. Shortly thereafter, the Ensemble embarked on tours with a rotating lineup providing live soundtrack to screenings of [i]Dutch Harbor[/i]. Recordings from the European tour are documented on [i]The Last Place To Go[/i] and the US tour on [i]Niagra Falls EP[/i]. In 2001, Braden King and Astria Suparak co-curated a program of existing and new short films created for the Boxhead Ensemble to perform to and self-released these recordings on the European tour as [i]Stories, Maps and Notes from the Half-Light[/i]. The program was also curated in 2004 for a US tour.

Boxhead Ensemble recordings since have been studio affairs. [i]Two Brothers[/i] and [i]Quartets[/i] consists of members Michael Krassner, Jessica Billey, Ryan Hembrey, Scott Tuma and Fred Lonberg-Holm from previous recordings and includes Glenn Kotche and Michael Colligan. The last album to date retains Michael Krassner and Fred Lonberg-Holm and comprises new members.

Video clips of Boxhead Ensemble:

Watch now Boxhead Ensemble's video clips! Click right here:

Full discography of Boxhead Ensemble:

Choose albums of full discography of Boxhead Ensemble

Click to title of release (album or single) to check out the track list of the release
Select page:
# Release cover Release title Tracks amount Download release in mp3? Official release date Label production
1 Two Brothers 9 mp3, CD 2001-08-21 Atavistic
2 Quartets 7 mp3, CD 2003-10-07 Atavistic
3 Boxhead Ensemble - The Last Place To Go The Last Place To Go 11 mp3, CD 1998-10-20 Atavistic
4 Boxhead Ensemble - Niagara Falls EP Niagara Falls EP 7 mp3, CD 1999-11-15 Atavistic
5 Boxhead Ensemble - Dutch Harbor: Where The Sea Breaks Its Back Dutch Harbor: Where The Sea Breaks Its Back 12 mp3, CD 1997 Atavistic
6 Boxhead Ensemble - The Last Place To Go The Last Place To Go 13 mp3, CD 1998
7 Boxhead Ensemble - Stories, Maps And Notes From The Half-Light Stories, Maps And Notes From The Half-Light 8 mp3, CD 2001-09-00 Not On Label
Select page:

Please lieve your comment about Boxhead Ensemble below: